I’m Going to Write for the New York Times: A real-time column about pitching the big publications

Amber Petty
4 min readMar 6, 2021

I want to write for the New York Times.

“Wow! What a unique and original goal!” you might be thinking. And yes, most writers would be excited about a Times article. Editors are besieged by pitches from people like me every day.

But I’m tired of just dreaming about the beautiful day when the Times would bless me with a byline. I want to make it happen.

So, I’m going to write for the New York Times.

Photo of me contemplating how I’ll procrastinate on pitching the New York Times

I’ve Tried Before…And Failed

Though I’ve been a freelance writer for 5 years, have articles in Thrillist, Parade, Greatist, Bustle, MTV.com, IFC.com, and even Snooki’s blog (try to control your envy), the Times always seemed out of reach.

When I started out, I thought you couldn’t write for the Gray Lady unless you were some fancy writer with a fancy New York background. My New York background consisted of doing improv shows under a grocery store and singing vagina double entendres right next to Times Scare (that’s not a typo, Times Scare was a huge, year-round haunted house on 43rd St. Undoubtedly a front since there’s no way those janky scare rooms paid the rent).

--

--

Amber Petty

Writer for the New York Times, Bustle, Greatist, MTV, IFC, Snooki’s blog. Want to hear about open writing jobs? Sign up for my free newsletter at AmberPetty.com